• Share this Blog

    Facebook Twitter More...
  • AFGE’s Twitter

  • Archives

  • Flickr Photos

The American Friends of the Yitzhak Rabin Center to Honor AFGE National Leader

AFGE National Secretary-Treasurer J. David Cox to receive 2012 Yitzhak Rabin Public Service Award

The American Federation of Government Employees’ National Secretary-Treasurer J. David Cox was recently selected to receive the prestigious 2012 Yitzhak Rabin Public Service Award. This award is presented by the American Friends of the Yitzhak Rabin Center (AFYRC) honoring those whose work reflects the legacy of the late Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin.

“It has been a labor of love representing VA employees, federal employees, D.C. government employees and, of course, my union, the American Federation of Government Employees, for the past 26 years. The recognition of our union’s work to provide federal workers with job dignity, fair pay and adequate working conditions is an affirmation for AFGE that echoes Prime Minister Rabin’s belief in the labor movement,” said AFGE National Secretary-Treasurer J. David Cox.

The AFYRC is a non-profit organization that supports the mission of the Yitzhak Rabin Center in Tel Aviv. The Center is the official memorial to the slain Prime Minister Rabin, who dedicated his life to peace, leadership and public services. Rabin served as an ambassador to the United States and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1994. The center, which is based on the model of the American Presidential Library, includes the Israeli Museum, archives and library, and educational wing and public space. Through its  educational programs, it is taking an active role teaching the lessons of the assassination and promoting international leadership development, public dialogue and tolerance.

Stuart Davidson, Chair of the AFYRC, said “At a time when government workers are under attack, it is important to celebrate the invaluable contributions of public employees in our communities. Certainly AFGE and J. David Cox are symbols of the contributions made to our society by your members.”

Past honorees of the award include Cecil Roberts, President of the United Mine Workers of America; Randi Weingarten, President of the American Federation of Teachers; Terry O’Sullivan, General President of the Laborers’ International Union of North America; James P. Hoffa, President of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters and Barbara Easterling, President of Alliance for Retried Americans. Advisory board members of the AFYRC include former Secretaries of State Henry Kissinger and Madeleine Albright, and Martin Indyk, vice president and director of the Foreign Policy Program at Brookings and former U.S. ambassador to Israel.

A dinner in honor of NST Cox will be held on May 9, 2012. For more information on the AFYRC visit their website at www.friendsofrabin.org. To learn more about NST Cox and AFGE please visit www.afge.org.  For information about the dinner, please contact CoxDinner@Friendsof Rabin.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: